Exercise: Book cover design, Cover 3

My third cover will be for ‘The First Men in the Moon’ by H.G. Wells.

I drew an illustration of the Moon in Illustrator. I used gradient, transparency and sponge effect from the Effect gallery to give the illustration some texture so it does not look generic.

moon  cover3extra

 

I added a dark blue background using similar effects. I wanted for the word ‘Moon’ in the title to overlap the picture of the Moon but I was not happy with the way it looked. In the end I kept the Moon in the lower centre of the cover with the right end of it cropped.

I kept the use of the Century Gothic bold font like with other covers and kept the colour of the text on the cover similar to the colour of the Moon.

book3spine

Cover 3:

Cover for 'The First Men in the Moon' by H.G. Wells

Cover for ‘The First Men in the Moon’ by H.G. Wells

 

Leave a Reply

