Exercise: Book cover design, Cover 1

1. For my first cover I chose ‘The Sea Lady’ by H.G. Wells. I decided to use an outline of a woman’s face with her hair flowing in the wind.

hairoutline

 

I used a photo of the sea I took a few years ago on a cruise to fill the outline.

055 hairoutline+sea

 

I wanted to keep the background simple, so I used a pattern with grey dots on a white background in Illustrator to allow the image in the centre to be more striking.

I used Century Gothic font for the title and author’s name on the cover and spine and I placed the publisher’s logo on the spine.

bookspine

 

Cover 1:

Cover for 'The Sea Lady' by H.G. Wells

Cover for ‘The Sea Lady’ by H.G. Wells

Leave a Reply

