‘Graphic Design Essentials’ by Joyce Walsh Macario

I read ‘Graphic Design Essentials’ by Joyce Walsh Macario.

I thought it was a very good book to start out in graphic design. I liked the way it explained different elements such as typography, images, layout etc., but also gave a set of step by step exercises for learning the software used in this field.

I found the relaxed pace of introducing new material quite helpful, as sometimes it is easy to feel overwhelmed when you are trying to get through something that is completely new to you.

The exercises in the book were very beneficial and I could feel that my skills were building up with each chapter. I was glad to see that as my main concern while enrolling in this course was the use of graphic design software. I know that the book covers only basics, but it is a good start. I thought that the amount of information included in the book was just right for somebody who is just starting out.

It is written in an informal, relaxed and easy to understand way.

I would recommend it to anyone who is new to graphic design.

 

Leave a Reply

